Son of Sobek

A short story involving the characters from Heroes of Olympus & the Kane Chronicles

By Rick Riordan

7/10 Stars

Carter is just trying to kill a pesky monster when another guy shows up with a glowing sword and an arrogant attitude. Percy doesn’t understand what type of demigod this guy is and why he is jabbering about Egyptian myths. The Egyptian & Greek world collide as two talented heroes face off to fight a great monster, and get into a whole lot of trouble.

This was great, and hilarious, but I wish it was longer! I loved the ending, and how it leaves possibilities for a new Egyptian-Greek connection to come out in Rick Riordan’s future books! I highly recommend it to any fans of Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus or the Kane Chronicles. 

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Books,Boys Books,

1

Relatively Famous

By Jessica Park

6/10 Stars

Dani just found out her dad is a movie star. Mark Ocean just found out that he has a teenage daughter, and it would be good for his career to become a family man. Before they know it, Dani’s spending the summer with Mark. Dani encounters hot trainers, thousand dollar dresses, huge parties, and teen socialites quickly. Can Dani stay herself among LA beauty queens? And can Mark find a way to appreciate his daughter?

This is a poorly written book, but very fun to read. Dani is a likable character, and I found myself rooting for her despite it all. The book was pretty predictable & cliche, but it had some twists in the plot that were both creative & unpredictable. I recommend it to preteens and young teens looking for an entertaining, easy read.

8.14.14. Realistic Fiction,

0

Of Poseidon

Book 1 of the Syrena Legacy

By Anna Banks

8/10 Stars

Emma & Chloe’s peaceful Florida vacation turns into a nightmare, and Emma is forced to deal with Galen, a mysterious, handsome stranger who keeps showing up. Galen is determined to protect the Syrenas, the kingdom of “mermaids/mermen” under the sea. It takes many encounters, including a tragic one, to convince him of her legacy. But can he convince her that she holds the key to uniting two kingdoms?

This book is a difficult one to describe. It’s intensely exciting & humorous, with very entertaining characters and a surprisingly original story line. The romance in the book is also a highlight. However, the characters all react to things in extreme, unrealistic ways-which can be amusing, but also irritating. I highly recommend this book to fans of romance, mermaids, and adventure.

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Popular Teen Books,

0

“ The best leaders make mistakes and then learn from them. The best leaders never make the same mistakes again. The only way you can learn is if you understand the mistakes that were made. ”

The Testing

8.06.14. Quotes,

0

The Testing

Book One in the Testing series

By Joelle Charbonneau

8/`10 Stars

Ages 12+

image

After the Seven Stages of War that ripped the world apart, the United Commonwealth government invites the most promising students to the University to become leaders in their society. However, to make it to the University, the students must go through a process called the Testing. No one knows what happens in it, but Malencia’s dad, a University graduate, warns her that it’s not pretty. The process isn’t optional, and Malencia is selected for it. As Malencia journeys through the Testing process, her enthusiasm and excitement to be chosen dims as she realizes that the Testing will punish wrong answers, and she can’t trust a soul.

Malencia Vale is an intelligent, relatable character. Parts of this book are very predictable, in the corrupt-dystopian-government theme of the book, but the book has many layers that aren’t advertised immediately. This book had been on my reading list for a while, and I wasn’t disappointed. I highly recommend this thrilling start to a series

8.06.14. Science Fiction Books,Fantasy Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0

13: A Novel

By Jason Robert Brown & Dan Elish

6.5/10 Stars

Based on the musical 13

 

Evan’s dad met a stewardess on a flight, and before he knows it, he’s moving to Appleton, Indiana, away from his friends and sort-of girlfriend, Nina. His bar mitzvah is happening in two months and he has no friends and no desire for the party. Before he knows it, his friends in New York are drifting away and one stole Nina. Evan quickly learns that if he wants to make it in Appleton, he has to become friends with the coolest guy in town, Brett Connelly. But his new friends and his becoming a man mentality for the bar mitzvah start to clash and Evan has to decide what becoming a man really means, and what it means to be a friend. 

I enjoyed this book. Predictable, but sweetly so, with a great message behind the story. Evan’s character jumps off the page, and the new friends he makes are all full of personality and humor. I especially enjoyed reading more about the characters from the musical 13 (I am currently in it) and hearing more about Evan’s journey. The book wasn’t written particularly well, but it was entertaining and had an excellent message. I recommend it to preteens figuring out what growing up is.

PS: Go see the musical 13, it’s way better than the book (:

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Boys Books,Humor,

0

A Midsummer’s Nightmare

By Kody Keplinger

8/10 Stars

12+

Whitley’s dream summer has turned into a nightmare. Her divorced dad is getting married to a perfect family, and will do whatever it takes to make it work, including shutting Whitley out of his life. To make it worse, her graduation one-night-stand happens to be her new stepbrother. If Whitley ever wants to be happy again, it’s going to take a lot of help from her adorable new sister, hot stepbrother, and new best friend to do it.

This book was a lot better than I expected. Whitley is a character that readers can relate to- confused, moody, and hurt about her family, life, and future. Her story was very real, and I was sucked into the book from the second page. The author did an excellent job on Whitley’s voice, and it definitely made the book much better. I highly recommend this book.

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

0

Amber Rules

Book One of the Hollywood Rules

By Mel/Melinda Curtis

8/10 Stars

13+

requested by author to read, not sponsored

image

Amber Rules just inherited her father’s life coaching business and if she ever wants to gain privacy, she has to earn one million dollars in income for the company. She has no clue how to be a life coach and how to hold onto her few remaining clients, plus one egotistical (but handsome) basketball star is determined to teach Amber his own set of Rules. 

I loved this book, and read it in less than a week. I enjoyed Amber’s character and spunk, and the entire book was hilarious and sassy. Evan & Amber’s chemistry is impeccable, and I couldn’t help but root for them. The family drama was great, adding more substance to the book than romance, and it is always refreshing to read a book with realistic aspects. I highly recommend this well written book. 

7.12.14. Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

4

“ I guess you can never really know what’s going on inside another person. ”

All Our Yesterdays

7.08.14. Quotes,

0

All Our Yesterdays

By Cristin Terrill

9/10 Stars

image

The world is falling apart and it’s up to Em to go back in time and change the fate of the future. The problem is, she’s tried before, and now she only has one option left. You have to kill him. Marina has been trying to get James to confess his feelings with her for ages, and she finally feels like he likes her. Suddenly, a tragedy strikes and she’s not sure what’s happening, or if James is really so trustworthy. Em & Marina race against time for a result only one will can win.

I bought this book after reading half of it at the library, and then setting it down. It’s so thought provoking and suspenseful that I couldn’t start another book without comparing it to this one. The characters are so believable, they seemed to jump off the page. Em & Marina are flawed and question themselves constantly, which is a trait I always appreciate in characters (so it’s realistic). The time aspect of the book was understandable, unlike most time-related books I’ve read, and fascinating. This is time travel done right. I highly recommend this book. 

7.08.14. Science Fiction Books,Romance Books,Fantasy Books,

0

melcurtisauthor said: I have a few in each series. Each can be read as a stand alone but I'll name them all for you so you can take your pick. My Harlequin Heartwarming novels (sweet) are Dandelion Wishes, Summer Kisses, and Season of Change. My hotter series, the Hollywood Rules, includes Amber Rules, Blue Rules, Cora Rules. I also have a novella entitled Gemma Rules which is a sweet romance. I write this series under the name Mel Curtis.

Great! I will put these on my reading list, and hopefully I’ll post a review soon. Thanks for your input!

7.08.14.

0

City of Heavenly Fire

Book 6 in the Mortal Instruments Series

By Cassandra Clare

9/10 Stars

Institutes are being attacked. Hundreds of Shadowhunters are dying, or turning into demon-like creatures fighting for evil. Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, and Alec are the only ones who can save their society, but even they can’t do it alone. Nothing under Heaven can defeat Sebastian, Clary’s ruthless brother, and they must travel to the demon realm to try to stop him..before the world is burned to the ground.

This is the finale of the Mortal Instruments series. Action-packed, romantic, and exciting, it’s my favorite book of the year. The characters are so realistic and flawed, it makes me love them more than the perfect ones of other stories. The connections between this book  & the Infernal Devices series were just what the book needed. I highly recommend

6.25.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,

1

melcurtisauthor said: Hello, my name is Melinda Curtis, I am an author who writes for Harlequin Heartwarming (sweet contemporary romance) and I also have a hotter indie-pubbed series (Contemporary Romance/New Adult Romance). I was wondering if you would be interested in reviewing one of my books. I am unsure as to what genres you are most interested in reading.

Hi Melinda! I review all genres of books because I enjoy it all (especially romance-your books sound great!) I would be happy to read and review your book(s). Please let me know the title(s) and I will read it. Thank you!

6.25.14.

0

The Selection

Book 1 of the Selection series

By Kiera Cass

8/10 Stars

America Singer had an invitation to apply for the Selection. The chance to fall in love with the prince, marry him, and become Queen sounds like a dream for most girls, but America only applied because her true love wanted her to. And now, she’s been selected and forced away from her home & boyfriend, and into a situation with 34 other girls, competing for a Prince’s affections. How much more worse can it get?

This book surprised me with the depth and interesting plot. I was expecting a fun, shallow book, but instead got a fun, thought-provoking book about the life of royals and the people below them. The world in which America lives in is strange and revolutionary, hurting some, and saving others. I highly recommend.

6.15.14. Dystopian,Fantasy Books,Romance Books,

0

Cinder

Book 1 of the Lunar Chronicles

8/10 Stars

By Marissa Meyer

image

Cinder is a gifted mechanic and a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen, scorned by her family and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. However, when her life suddenly becomes wrapped up with Prince Kai’s, she might be her world’s only hope.

This book was enjoyable & mysterious. It was a bit predictable at times, but the characters were not, and I enjoyed the new vision of “our” world. The story, seemingly familiar at first, spirals into a new realm of fascinating. I highly recommend it.

6.15.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0