“ You can’t be happy unless you’re unhappy sometimes. ”

Delirium

4.07.14. quotes,

1

Smoky Mountain Tracks

Book 1 of the Raine Stockton Dog Mystery series

By Donna Ball

9.8/10 Stars

Raine Stockton is the daughter of the judge and ex-wife of the sheriff. She also works as a search-and-rescue worker sometimes with her inexperienced, but lovable dog, Cisco. She is reluctantly thrust into a search for a six year old girl & her mother, kidnapped and somewhere in the wilderness. Suspecting there is more to the case than what meets the eye, she does some investigating of her own, while she slowly learns to trust Cisco and herself.

Oh my goodness, this series is completely amazing. Full to bursting with adorable dog details, scary police scenes, rocky self-discovery, and a necessary bit of romance, it is entertaining from beginning to end. I loved every bit of it, and I confess that I’ve already read the entire series. I highly recommend it!

4.07.14. Realistic Fiction,Mystery Books,Popular Books,

0

Delirium

Book 1 of the Delirium series

By Lauren Oliver

9/10 Stars

It’s hard to imagine that people thought love was a good thing. Now that scientists have found the cure, there isn’t pain or hatred in the world, and everyone’s happy. And Lena is anxious for her procedure, coming up at the end of the summer. Then she’ll go to college, be matched, live happily ever after..and not turning out like her mother. But, she falls in love, and finds out that the disease is a beautiful thing. 

I adored this book! Amazingly written with a thought-provoking concept, it has excitement, mystery, and romance. I highly recommend it.

4.06.14. Popular Books,Popular Teen Books,Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

2

Full Ride

By Margaret Peterson Haddix

9/10 Stars

Becca was once popular, rich, and happy. But after her father was sent to jail for embezzlement, and danger seeks her at every turn, her mother and her move away and start a new life, poor and broken. Now, Becca is in her senior year. She has good grades, good friends, and a desperate desire for a good future. When she starts applying for scholarships, she finds out that she may never be able to go to the college of her dreams, since she is trapped by her past. How far is Becca willing to go for a future?

This book was well written, thought provoking, and exciting. I flew through it, as I usually do with a Haddix book, and loved every second. Becca is such a genuine character with a past she is ashamed of, trying to scrape up a life of her own from the broken shards. The book has great morals and surprising humor. I highly recommend it!

3.20.14. Realistic Fiction,Popular Teen Books,

2

GO: A Kidd’s Guide to Graphic Design

By Chip Kidd

9/10 Stars

Graphic design is everywhere. In anything that a human made and created, there is graphic design. In that “Caution!” sign, there is graphic design. Someone decided that yellow would get attention, and black would be legible; someone decided that this design was the most practical for the wanted effect. This book is a guide to graphic design. What is it? Where did it come from? And how do you do it? All of these questions and more are answered in this fun, interesting, and awesomely designed book.

I really enjoyed this book. I picked it up because of that provocative cover, with the “GO” icon printed on the usual stop sign icon. The inside is colorful, fun, and very interesting to look at. Everything you read in the book is designed to attract attention or point your thoughts in the right direction. The information is great, and it’s a very well written book. I highly recommend for everyone with a designer inside!

3.20.14. Nonfiction,Self-Help Books,

0

The Latte Rebellion

By Sarah Jamila Stevenson

9/10 Stars

image

After Asha, high school senior, gets called a racial insult at a pool party, it sparks an idea to make money for a post-graduation trip. They’ll design & sell T-Shirts that promote the idea of the Latte Rebellion. Eventually the business becomes more than just a way to earn money. A club begins that raises awareness of the “lattes” of the world, the idea that everyone is mixed. A little bit of this, a little bit of that. And this idea takes off, taking over Asha’s life much more than she planned. Will this idea ruin her dreams, or improve the world as we know it? How much risk is Asha willing to take?

Oh my goodness I love this book. I picked it up, not expecting much, and read the first few pages..and was hooked! This book is eye-catching, humorous, and written very well, with underlying themes of finding yourself and the mixed-races in our world. Perfectly balanced between Asha’s struggle with her parents, friends, and family, and her wild campaign ideas, you will love this book!! And it’s perfect to read with a mocha, capucchino, or better yet..a latte.

3.05.14. Realistic Fiction,Humor,Popular Teen Books,

0

“ You’re a grown up, and you get to decide what behaviors affect you for five minutes versus what behaviors change you as a person. ”

Adulting

2.25.14. quotes,

1

Adulting

9.5/10 Stars

By Kelly Williams Brown

13+

Just because you don’t feel like an adult, it doesn’t mean you can’t act like one. This book is an incredible guide to all the nitty-gritty parts of being an adult, including what to look for in an apartment, what to put in your apartment once you have one, how to stay away from your co-workers, and so much more. From work, to cooking, to family and dating, this book can teach you everything about being an adult. Whether you just need a few tips, or you’re completely clueless and need the whole book, buy & read this book.

I LOVE THIS BOOK. It’s written superbly well, with great humor and even better tips. This author isn’t afraid to tell her embarrassing, trying-to-be-an-adult stories and amazing other adults have chipped in with advice. I highly recommend this book. Oh, and check out her blog too..adultingblog.com.

2.24.14. Self-Help Books,Nonfiction,Adult Nonfiction,Popular Books,

1

“ I’ve always believed in savoring the moments. In the end, they are the only things we’ll have. ”

The Luxe

2.15.14. Quotes,

1

The Luxe

Book 1 of the Luxe series

By Anna Godbersen

8.5/10 Stars

image

Elizabeth Holland is at the top of the social ladder in New York, 1899. She is stunningly beautiful, perfectly mannered, and wealthy. Her younger sister, Diana, rules the wilder side of the lifestyle, kissing and flirting with any cute man she stumbles upon. But that all changes when they find out the truth about their deceased father, and that their social standings may not be as secure as they think. Elizabeth is forced to take the high path and save her family, marrying the man of her best friend’s dreams and giving up on her own dreams, while her sister struggles with feelings she wasn’t prepared for. This book is full of romance, back-stabbing, gorgeous couture & parties, and surprisingly deep family/self revelations.

I loved this book! I recently read “Gossip Girl” and this reminded me a bit of that, but not in the insanely shallow intricacy of that. This book is well-written and the girls are all relatable, and you can understand the back-stabbers. I felt for Elizabeth as she described how trapped she was, and still yearned for Diana’s forbidden love to work out in some way. If you’re looking for a romantic & deep, girly, book, I highly recommend this one.

2.15.14. Romance Books,Girls Books,New York Times bestsellers,New York Times Bestsellers,

0

Throne of Glass

Book 1 of the Throne of Glass series

By Sarah J. Maas

9/10 Stars

When magic is gone from the world and a vicious king rules over the kingdom, an assassin comes to the castle, not to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty three other killers, thieves, and criminals, she will become the King’s Champion, the personal assassin of the king. And after that, she’ll be free. She is Celaena Sardonithan. Two men love her. Everyone wants to kill her. And only she can save them all.

Celeana is such a great character. Raw & real, she’ll have your sympathy as soon as you read her story. The book is packed with action and mystery, twisted with betrayal, friendship, and romance. Very well written and exciting. Highly recommend! Can be a bit gory, so keep above age 12.

2.07.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Romance Books,

1

Gossip Girl

#1 of Gossip Girl series

By Cecily Von Ziegasar

8/10 Stars

Age 13+

Serena is back from boarding school. Her best friend, Blaine, isn’t happy to see her, because when Serena was gone, Blaine was the It Girl. With the man of Blaine’s dreams. The man of Blaine’s dreams, Nate, is struggling with his own feelings toward Serena, and trying desperately to keep his own secrets hidden. Serena doesn’t understand why everything can’t just go back to the way things are. The rich girls and boys are about to get tattled on, because lovely Gossip Girl is about to spill all their secrets. 

This is a book I’ve been meaning to read for a while, and you definitely have to been in the right, girly mood for it. It’s written very well, with clean character switches, well-developed plots, and interesting, deep characters. I highly recommend to girls who enjoy this sort of thing (you know who you are!) 

1.13.14. Girls Books,Popular Teen Books,Realistic Fiction,Movie,

0

Silent Night

Raine Stockton Dog Mysteries #5 (to be read in no serious order)

By Donna Ball

9/10 Stars

Raine Stockton has three dogs. Two Aussies, Mischief & Magic, and her sweet, search-and-rescue trained golden retriever, Cisco. With Cisco by her side, she has solved many mysteries in her picturesque small town in North Carolina. When a newborn appears in the place of a toy Jesus in a Nativity festival, Raine’s festive night goes awry. An abandoned box of golden retriever puppies, disappeared baby Jesuses all over town, and missing girl just add to her problems. And then she hears of the murder.

Oh, my gosh. This series is the best thing that’s ever happened to me in mysteries. Heart pounding mystery plots, combined with adorable doggie moments & descriptions, with a tinge of romance, this series is a must-have! I actually started with this one, since it was the Christmas one, not realizing it was a series, but I was just fine. The author did an excellent job explaining it all! Well written, thrilling and adorable, with great characters, this is a must-read for any that love reading, mysteries, and/or dogs. I highly recommend!

1.11.14. Mystery,Mystery Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Romance Books,Popular Books,Adult Fiction,

0

Spirit and Dust

By Rosemary Clement-Moore

8.5/10 Stars

Daisy Goodnight can talk to the dead. And no, it’s not because she was struck by lighting or saved from the cusp of death. Her family has always had special talents. With her talents, Daisy has solved many mysteries with the help of the handsomest FBI agent, Taylor. But when she comes across one dead body, Daisy is swept into a dangerous whirlwind of curses, magic, love, and destruction. 

This book was fabulous! Had me on the edge of the seat the entire time, waiting to see what would happen next. Daisy is such a great character, with humor and unashamed personality. The two love interests are perfect bad boys with dry humor and a sweet side, and I love them! Above the romance, the mystery and action is so exciting and intricate, with twists and turns nobody could predict. I highly recommend this book!

1.11.14. Mystery,Mystery Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Romance Books,Popular Teen Books,Girls Books,

0

Matilda Bone

By Karen Cushman

7/10 Stars

Matilda, raised by a priest to be pious, hard, and learned, is sent away from her childhood home into Blood & Bone Alley, to be the assistant of Peg the Bonesetter. To Matilda’s dismay, she is to light fires, run errands, and heal people, much below her earlier practices of Latin, writing, and reading. Her narrow views of the world bring other’s pity onto her, to her confusion, when she believes they are the ones to pity. Gradually, however, Matilda Bone learns that her world and God are not as they seem, and maybe it isn’t so sinful to speak up, make her own choices, and laugh.

This is a wonderful book for children, and young teens. In a unique perspective, Matilda’s story is much like all of our struggles to find ourselves and our place in this world. Well written with greatly developed characters and dry humor, I highly recommend this book!

1.11.14. Popular Kid Books,Historical Fiction,Realistic Fiction,Girls Books,Humor,

0