13: A Novel

By Jason Robert Brown & Dan Elish

6.5/10 Stars

Based on the musical 13

 

Evan’s dad met a stewardess on a flight, and before he knows it, he’s moving to Appleton, Indiana, away from his friends and sort-of girlfriend, Nina. His bar mitzvah is happening in two months and he has no friends and no desire for the party. Before he knows it, his friends in New York are drifting away and one stole Nina. Evan quickly learns that if he wants to make it in Appleton, he has to become friends with the coolest guy in town, Brett Connelly. But his new friends and his becoming a man mentality for the bar mitzvah start to clash and Evan has to decide what becoming a man really means, and what it means to be a friend. 

I enjoyed this book. Predictable, but sweetly so, with a great message behind the story. Evan’s character jumps off the page, and the new friends he makes are all full of personality and humor. I especially enjoyed reading more about the characters from the musical 13 (I am currently in it) and hearing more about Evan’s journey. The book wasn’t written particularly well, but it was entertaining and had an excellent message. I recommend it to preteens figuring out what growing up is.

PS: Go see the musical 13, it’s way better than the book (:

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Boys Books,Humor,

0

A Midsummer’s Nightmare

By Kody Keplinger

8/10 Stars

12+

Whitley’s dream summer has turned into a nightmare. Her divorced dad is getting married to a perfect family, and will do whatever it takes to make it work, including shutting Whitley out of his life. To make it worse, her graduation one-night-stand happens to be her new stepbrother. If Whitley ever wants to be happy again, it’s going to take a lot of help from her adorable new sister, hot stepbrother, and new best friend to do it.

This book was a lot better than I expected. Whitley is a character that readers can relate to- confused, moody, and hurt about her family, life, and future. Her story was very real, and I was sucked into the book from the second page. The author did an excellent job on Whitley’s voice, and it definitely made the book much better. I highly recommend this book.

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

0

Amber Rules

Book One of the Hollywood Rules

By Mel/Melinda Curtis

8/10 Stars

13+

requested by author to read, not sponsored

image

Amber Rules just inherited her father’s life coaching business and if she ever wants to gain privacy, she has to earn one million dollars in income for the company. She has no clue how to be a life coach and how to hold onto her few remaining clients, plus one egotistical (but handsome) basketball star is determined to teach Amber his own set of Rules. 

I loved this book, and read it in less than a week. I enjoyed Amber’s character and spunk, and the entire book was hilarious and sassy. Evan & Amber’s chemistry is impeccable, and I couldn’t help but root for them. The family drama was great, adding more substance to the book than romance, and it is always refreshing to read a book with realistic aspects. I highly recommend this well written book. 

7.12.14. Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

4

“ I guess you can never really know what’s going on inside another person. ”

All Our Yesterdays

7.08.14. Quotes,

0

All Our Yesterdays

By Cristin Terrill

9/10 Stars

image

The world is falling apart and it’s up to Em to go back in time and change the fate of the future. The problem is, she’s tried before, and now she only has one option left. You have to kill him. Marina has been trying to get James to confess his feelings with her for ages, and she finally feels like he likes her. Suddenly, a tragedy strikes and she’s not sure what’s happening, or if James is really so trustworthy. Em & Marina race against time for a result only one will can win.

I bought this book after reading half of it at the library, and then setting it down. It’s so thought provoking and suspenseful that I couldn’t start another book without comparing it to this one. The characters are so believable, they seemed to jump off the page. Em & Marina are flawed and question themselves constantly, which is a trait I always appreciate in characters (so it’s realistic). The time aspect of the book was understandable, unlike most time-related books I’ve read, and fascinating. This is time travel done right. I highly recommend this book. 

7.08.14. Science Fiction Books,Romance Books,Fantasy Books,

0

melcurtisauthor said: I have a few in each series. Each can be read as a stand alone but I'll name them all for you so you can take your pick. My Harlequin Heartwarming novels (sweet) are Dandelion Wishes, Summer Kisses, and Season of Change. My hotter series, the Hollywood Rules, includes Amber Rules, Blue Rules, Cora Rules. I also have a novella entitled Gemma Rules which is a sweet romance. I write this series under the name Mel Curtis.

Great! I will put these on my reading list, and hopefully I’ll post a review soon. Thanks for your input!

7.08.14.

0

City of Heavenly Fire

Book 6 in the Mortal Instruments Series

By Cassandra Clare

9/10 Stars

Institutes are being attacked. Hundreds of Shadowhunters are dying, or turning into demon-like creatures fighting for evil. Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, and Alec are the only ones who can save their society, but even they can’t do it alone. Nothing under Heaven can defeat Sebastian, Clary’s ruthless brother, and they must travel to the demon realm to try to stop him..before the world is burned to the ground.

This is the finale of the Mortal Instruments series. Action-packed, romantic, and exciting, it’s my favorite book of the year. The characters are so realistic and flawed, it makes me love them more than the perfect ones of other stories. The connections between this book  & the Infernal Devices series were just what the book needed. I highly recommend

6.25.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,

0

melcurtisauthor said: Hello, my name is Melinda Curtis, I am an author who writes for Harlequin Heartwarming (sweet contemporary romance) and I also have a hotter indie-pubbed series (Contemporary Romance/New Adult Romance). I was wondering if you would be interested in reviewing one of my books. I am unsure as to what genres you are most interested in reading.

Hi Melinda! I review all genres of books because I enjoy it all (especially romance-your books sound great!) I would be happy to read and review your book(s). Please let me know the title(s) and I will read it. Thank you!

6.25.14.

0

The Selection

Book 1 of the Selection series

By Kiera Cass

8/10 Stars

America Singer had an invitation to apply for the Selection. The chance to fall in love with the prince, marry him, and become Queen sounds like a dream for most girls, but America only applied because her true love wanted her to. And now, she’s been selected and forced away from her home & boyfriend, and into a situation with 34 other girls, competing for a Prince’s affections. How much more worse can it get?

This book surprised me with the depth and interesting plot. I was expecting a fun, shallow book, but instead got a fun, thought-provoking book about the life of royals and the people below them. The world in which America lives in is strange and revolutionary, hurting some, and saving others. I highly recommend.

6.15.14. Dystopian,Fantasy Books,Romance Books,

0

Cinder

Book 1 of the Lunar Chronicles

8/10 Stars

By Marissa Meyer

image

Cinder is a gifted mechanic and a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen, scorned by her family and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. However, when her life suddenly becomes wrapped up with Prince Kai’s, she might be her world’s only hope.

This book was enjoyable & mysterious. It was a bit predictable at times, but the characters were not, and I enjoyed the new vision of “our” world. The story, seemingly familiar at first, spirals into a new realm of fascinating. I highly recommend it.

6.15.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0

The 39 Clues

Series of 10 Books; begins with Maze of Bones

By Rick Riordan (and other guest authors)

8/10 Stars

This series tells the story of Amy and Dan’s adventures. Amy & Dan discover they are members of the Cahill family, the most influential family in history, and they have can each have one million dollars, or have the first clue in the 39 Clue hunt. If they win the hunt, they will become the most powerful people on earth. These books chronicle their search for the Clues and their own search to find themselves.

I highly recommend this series. It’s an excellent mystery series with no predictability or monotone moments. The characters are interesting & amusing, and the plot is intricate and fascinating. 

6.15.14. New York Times bestsellers,New York Times Bestsellers,Popular Kid Books,Boys Books,

1

“ Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing ”

To Kill A Mockingbird

5.25.14. Quotes,

1

To Kill A Mockingbird

By Harper Lee

9/10 Stars

This book follows the life of Jean Louise Finch (known as Scout). The first part of the book is about her adventures about town, and discoveries about mysterious Boo Radley. The second part of the book is about her father, Atticus, and his impossible job of defending a black man from a rape charge based on no evidence, and suspicious word of mouth. Scout is forced to grow up quickly and see her quiet town in a new light, and make her own decisions about what is right before she no longer can.

I didn’t know what to expect in this book. (Spoiler: it’s not about killing mockingbirds.) I was greatly impressed. I really enjoyed the book, and the more modern writing than some classics. Scout is the perfect character to watch the story play out from, because she is young and innocent, and sees things as they truly are. The writing, characters, and plot is superb in this book. I was especially a fan of Atticus, who we can all learn from. I highly recommend this book to everyone.

5.25.14. The Classics,Historical Fiction,Movie,

0

Superlatives: Biggest Flirts

By Jennifer Echols

8/10 Stars

Ages 12+

Tia has worked hard to be known as the life of the party, and is careful to avoid responsibility & relationships. She’s ready for an easy senior year hanging out with friends, and hooking up with cute boys..starting with new kid, Will. As sparks fly, Will wants to get serious and Tia can’t push him away fast enough. Side by side all year, the two stay friends and can’t resist teasing each other constantly. But when they are awarded Biggest Flirts of the senior class, Will’s in trouble with his girlfriend and Tia finds herself struggling with her own logical reasoning about love. It started out as a carefree fling and it’s about to get a whole lot more complicated.

Tia is a great character. Seemingly shallow on the surface, she has layers of family issues and moments that taint every possible minute of her life. I really enjoyed reading her story, but I admit, got frustrated with her. Will is great, though seems a little too “dream guy.” Cute, chases after what he wants, etc. He also has a well-written character. The book is written well, and funny to read. I finished it quickly. I highly recommend if you want a fun, light read.

5.25.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

1

The Menagerie

Book 1 of the Menagerie series

By Tui & Kari Sutherland

7/10 Stars

Logan Wilde is the new kid in town, and he’s lonely & exasperated with his dad for still searching for his mother. His mother, who ran away from them. When he finds a griffin under his bed, his eyes are opened to a whole new side of his new town. He quickly discovers that there is trouble brewing at the magical creature paradise across town. But how will he be able to help?

This is a fun, humorous, and well-thought out novel. I highly recommend it for kids, young to old, with an interest in magical creatures. The characters are interesting and developed, and the author gives Logan a great voice.

5.09.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Kid Books,

0