Grave Mercy

Book 1 of the His Fair AssassinSeries

By Robin LaFevers

7.5/10 Stars

image

Ismae was chosen to serve the god of death, Mortain, at the convent. She is trained in poisons, weaponry, and womanly arts - though she skips the class more than learning the art. When she is sent out on one of her first assignments, she is eager to prove herself & faith to Mortain. However, she quickly learns all is not as it seems, and sometimes one must make a choice between what’s right and what she has been taught all her life. Torn between loyalties & betrayals, Ismae must decide the true nature of the god she serves, at everyone’s peril.

This book starts out slow, and brutal. I was tempted to set it down and look for another, but my curiosity drove me to keep reading. I’m glad I did. Ismae is a relatable, though sometimes not likable character who grew on me throughout the book. I was impressed by the depth of research the author did for the book, and how she applied it in the layered story line. Once Ismae left for her assignment, the book became much better & very interesting. The romance was done well, though a bit predictable, the characters had great depth & confusion that spiced up the romance. This book also had hidden lessons in the story line, written extremely well. I recommend this book to lovers of YA fantasy. 

9.08.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Young Adult,

0

The Here and Now

By Ann Brashares

9/10 Stars

Prenna comes from the future. She and the other travelers are back before the world went wrong to try to stop the bleak future ahead of them. The rules from the leaders are for her protection, and for the world’s. Don’t accept medical attention from anyone except the travelers medics. Don’t stand out and don’t tell any of the time natives about who you really are. And most importantly, don’t fall in love.

Prenna is an amazing protagonist. She is relatable, developed, and interesting, along with being a character you admire. The time travel and future ideas were the best I’ve ever read. They are very realistic & understandable. This book warns us what will happen if we don’t change our ways. A must read for everyone.

8.31.14. Fantasy Books,Science Fiction Books,Romance Books,Popular Books,

5

ttyl

Book 1 of the Internet Girls series

By Lauren Myracle

7/10 Stars

Ages 12+

image

Told in IM format, this book tells the stories of three best friends, Angela, Maddie, and Zoe and their tenth grade experience. Determined to stay best friends forever, the three weather popular girl drama & boy troubles head on. But when Angela is faced with a fresh heartache, Zoe gets in over her head with a flirty teacher, and Maddie goes to the wrong party with the wrong friends, the three are forced to wonder if their friendship is really meant to be.

This book is entertaining & extremely amusing, but I don’t recommend it to those under 12 or over 18. The characters are interesting and realistic, and their friendship well developed. I recommend it to girls in high school looking for an entertaining read.

8.31.14. Realistic Fiction,Humor,Girls Books,

0

Angel Burn

Book 1 of the Angel trilogy

By L.A. Weatherly

8/10 Stars

Published by the title of Angel in the UK

image

When Willow is asked to give a psychic reading to one of the most popular girls in school, it starts a chain of events that changes her life. She finds out that angels inhabit the earth, feeding on humans and quickly sending the world into disrepair. Alex has been an Angel Killer for his whole life, and his next assignment seems typical, until he meets Willow. Unexpected, clueless, and strangely angelic, he doesn’t know what to think anymore. And the angels know something that the two can barely guess at, but must learn if they want to save themselves & the world.

This book blew me away. It was such an interesting concept - of angels being the bad guys - and the writing was good. I enjoyed the character development and unexpected twists in the tale. I highly recommend it.

8.31.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,

1

The Staff of Serapis

Book 2 of the Percy Jackson & Kane Chronicles Crossover

By Rick Riordan

9/10 Stars

While chasing a mysterious monster, Annabeth Chase runs into a strange girl with even stranger powers. The two band together to battle an ancient force that is commanded by one Sadie Kane has heard of before..one she hoped she’d never hear of again. Will the combined might of the smartest demigod in Camp Half Blood & the magician & Isis bonded girl be able to save the gods..of both worlds?

This book was even better than the Carter-Percy crossover. I loved the bond of Annabeth & Sadie, and the unique events. I highly recommend this to fans of the Kanes or of the demigods.

8.25.14. Fantasy Books,

0

Everblue

Book 1 of the Mer Tales

By Brenda Pandos

4/10 Stars

Ashlyn’s life was going well. She was spending time with her best friend, Tatiana, fantasizing over her twin, Fin, and practicing for upcoming swim meets. Suddenly, Tatiana & Fin disappear and Ashlyn is stuck wondering why. Fin & Tatiana are stuck in the secret world of mermaids and mermen, trapped by the tyrant king and his incessantly frustrating son. How will Ashlyn, Fin, and Tatiana cope with their separate struggles?

I had high hopes for this novel. It started strong, but unfortunately declined in quality. Ashlyn turns into a pining girl who does stupid things and can’t do anything without a guy. Fin & Tatiana are very flat characters, which is disappointing, since they both had great potential. This book sends the wrong, sexist message to young girls, and I don’t recommend reading it.

8.25.14. Fantasy Books,

0

Heiress, P.i.

By Amanda Mahan

8/10 Stars

12+

Lucy Hansen is the shyest rich girl in Hollywood. She avoids the paparazzi, and is more concerned about the environment than the latest trends. But when her best friend forever, Holden, asks for a favor, she can’t turn it down. A made over, clueless, not really private investigator, Lucy is a disaster waiting to happen. And it happens.

This book completely surprised me. It was endlessly entertaining, humorous, and had an interesting plot line. When I picked this book up, I expected it to be funny, but predictable, and the latter was completely untrue. The characters are intricate & amusing, and the drama completely believable (though hilarious). I highly recommend it.

8.25.14. Realistic Fiction,Girls Books,Mystery,Mystery Books,Romance Books,

0

Son of Sobek

A short story involving the characters from Heroes of Olympus & the Kane Chronicles

By Rick Riordan

7/10 Stars

Carter is just trying to kill a pesky monster when another guy shows up with a glowing sword and an arrogant attitude. Percy doesn’t understand what type of demigod this guy is and why he is jabbering about Egyptian myths. The Egyptian & Greek world collide as two talented heroes face off to fight a great monster, and get into a whole lot of trouble.

This was great, and hilarious, but I wish it was longer! I loved the ending, and how it leaves possibilities for a new Egyptian-Greek connection to come out in Rick Riordan’s future books! I highly recommend it to any fans of Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus or the Kane Chronicles. 

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Books,Boys Books,

1

Relatively Famous

By Jessica Park

6/10 Stars

Dani just found out her dad is a movie star. Mark Ocean just found out that he has a teenage daughter, and it would be good for his career to become a family man. Before they know it, Dani’s spending the summer with Mark. Dani encounters hot trainers, thousand dollar dresses, huge parties, and teen socialites quickly. Can Dani stay herself among LA beauty queens? And can Mark find a way to appreciate his daughter?

This is a poorly written book, but very fun to read. Dani is a likable character, and I found myself rooting for her despite it all. The book was pretty predictable & cliche, but it had some twists in the plot that were both creative & unpredictable. I recommend it to preteens and young teens looking for an entertaining, easy read.

8.14.14. Realistic Fiction,

0

Of Poseidon

Book 1 of the Syrena Legacy

By Anna Banks

8/10 Stars

Emma & Chloe’s peaceful Florida vacation turns into a nightmare, and Emma is forced to deal with Galen, a mysterious, handsome stranger who keeps showing up. Galen is determined to protect the Syrenas, the kingdom of “mermaids/mermen” under the sea. It takes many encounters, including a tragic one, to convince him of her legacy. But can he convince her that she holds the key to uniting two kingdoms?

This book is a difficult one to describe. It’s intensely exciting & humorous, with very entertaining characters and a surprisingly original story line. The romance in the book is also a highlight. However, the characters all react to things in extreme, unrealistic ways-which can be amusing, but also irritating. I highly recommend this book to fans of romance, mermaids, and adventure.

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Popular Teen Books,

2

“ The best leaders make mistakes and then learn from them. The best leaders never make the same mistakes again. The only way you can learn is if you understand the mistakes that were made. ”

The Testing

8.06.14. Quotes,

0

The Testing

Book One in the Testing series

By Joelle Charbonneau

8/`10 Stars

Ages 12+

image

After the Seven Stages of War that ripped the world apart, the United Commonwealth government invites the most promising students to the University to become leaders in their society. However, to make it to the University, the students must go through a process called the Testing. No one knows what happens in it, but Malencia’s dad, a University graduate, warns her that it’s not pretty. The process isn’t optional, and Malencia is selected for it. As Malencia journeys through the Testing process, her enthusiasm and excitement to be chosen dims as she realizes that the Testing will punish wrong answers, and she can’t trust a soul.

Malencia Vale is an intelligent, relatable character. Parts of this book are very predictable, in the corrupt-dystopian-government theme of the book, but the book has many layers that aren’t advertised immediately. This book had been on my reading list for a while, and I wasn’t disappointed. I highly recommend this thrilling start to a series

8.06.14. Science Fiction Books,Fantasy Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0

13: A Novel

By Jason Robert Brown & Dan Elish

6.5/10 Stars

Based on the musical 13

 

Evan’s dad met a stewardess on a flight, and before he knows it, he’s moving to Appleton, Indiana, away from his friends and sort-of girlfriend, Nina. His bar mitzvah is happening in two months and he has no friends and no desire for the party. Before he knows it, his friends in New York are drifting away and one stole Nina. Evan quickly learns that if he wants to make it in Appleton, he has to become friends with the coolest guy in town, Brett Connelly. But his new friends and his becoming a man mentality for the bar mitzvah start to clash and Evan has to decide what becoming a man really means, and what it means to be a friend. 

I enjoyed this book. Predictable, but sweetly so, with a great message behind the story. Evan’s character jumps off the page, and the new friends he makes are all full of personality and humor. I especially enjoyed reading more about the characters from the musical 13 (I am currently in it) and hearing more about Evan’s journey. The book wasn’t written particularly well, but it was entertaining and had an excellent message. I recommend it to preteens figuring out what growing up is.

PS: Go see the musical 13, it’s way better than the book (:

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Boys Books,Humor,

0

A Midsummer’s Nightmare

By Kody Keplinger

8/10 Stars

12+

Whitley’s dream summer has turned into a nightmare. Her divorced dad is getting married to a perfect family, and will do whatever it takes to make it work, including shutting Whitley out of his life. To make it worse, her graduation one-night-stand happens to be her new stepbrother. If Whitley ever wants to be happy again, it’s going to take a lot of help from her adorable new sister, hot stepbrother, and new best friend to do it.

This book was a lot better than I expected. Whitley is a character that readers can relate to- confused, moody, and hurt about her family, life, and future. Her story was very real, and I was sucked into the book from the second page. The author did an excellent job on Whitley’s voice, and it definitely made the book much better. I highly recommend this book.

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

0

Amber Rules

Book One of the Hollywood Rules

By Mel/Melinda Curtis

8/10 Stars

13+

requested by author to read, not sponsored

image

Amber Rules just inherited her father’s life coaching business and if she ever wants to gain privacy, she has to earn one million dollars in income for the company. She has no clue how to be a life coach and how to hold onto her few remaining clients, plus one egotistical (but handsome) basketball star is determined to teach Amber his own set of Rules. 

I loved this book, and read it in less than a week. I enjoyed Amber’s character and spunk, and the entire book was hilarious and sassy. Evan & Amber’s chemistry is impeccable, and I couldn’t help but root for them. The family drama was great, adding more substance to the book than romance, and it is always refreshing to read a book with realistic aspects. I highly recommend this well written book. 

7.12.14. Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

4