Son of Sobek

A short story involving the characters from Heroes of Olympus & the Kane Chronicles

By Rick Riordan

7/10 Stars

Carter is just trying to kill a pesky monster when another guy shows up with a glowing sword and an arrogant attitude. Percy doesn’t understand what type of demigod this guy is and why he is jabbering about Egyptian myths. The Egyptian & Greek world collide as two talented heroes face off to fight a great monster, and get into a whole lot of trouble.

This was great, and hilarious, but I wish it was longer! I loved the ending, and how it leaves possibilities for a new Egyptian-Greek connection to come out in Rick Riordan’s future books! I highly recommend it to any fans of Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus or the Kane Chronicles. 

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Books,Boys Books,

1

Of Poseidon

Book 1 of the Syrena Legacy

By Anna Banks

8/10 Stars

Emma & Chloe’s peaceful Florida vacation turns into a nightmare, and Emma is forced to deal with Galen, a mysterious, handsome stranger who keeps showing up. Galen is determined to protect the Syrenas, the kingdom of “mermaids/mermen” under the sea. It takes many encounters, including a tragic one, to convince him of her legacy. But can he convince her that she holds the key to uniting two kingdoms?

This book is a difficult one to describe. It’s intensely exciting & humorous, with very entertaining characters and a surprisingly original story line. The romance in the book is also a highlight. However, the characters all react to things in extreme, unrealistic ways-which can be amusing, but also irritating. I highly recommend this book to fans of romance, mermaids, and adventure.

8.14.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Popular Teen Books,

0

The Testing

Book One in the Testing series

By Joelle Charbonneau

8/`10 Stars

Ages 12+

image

After the Seven Stages of War that ripped the world apart, the United Commonwealth government invites the most promising students to the University to become leaders in their society. However, to make it to the University, the students must go through a process called the Testing. No one knows what happens in it, but Malencia’s dad, a University graduate, warns her that it’s not pretty. The process isn’t optional, and Malencia is selected for it. As Malencia journeys through the Testing process, her enthusiasm and excitement to be chosen dims as she realizes that the Testing will punish wrong answers, and she can’t trust a soul.

Malencia Vale is an intelligent, relatable character. Parts of this book are very predictable, in the corrupt-dystopian-government theme of the book, but the book has many layers that aren’t advertised immediately. This book had been on my reading list for a while, and I wasn’t disappointed. I highly recommend this thrilling start to a series

8.06.14. Science Fiction Books,Fantasy Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0

All Our Yesterdays

By Cristin Terrill

9/10 Stars

image

The world is falling apart and it’s up to Em to go back in time and change the fate of the future. The problem is, she’s tried before, and now she only has one option left. You have to kill him. Marina has been trying to get James to confess his feelings with her for ages, and she finally feels like he likes her. Suddenly, a tragedy strikes and she’s not sure what’s happening, or if James is really so trustworthy. Em & Marina race against time for a result only one will can win.

I bought this book after reading half of it at the library, and then setting it down. It’s so thought provoking and suspenseful that I couldn’t start another book without comparing it to this one. The characters are so believable, they seemed to jump off the page. Em & Marina are flawed and question themselves constantly, which is a trait I always appreciate in characters (so it’s realistic). The time aspect of the book was understandable, unlike most time-related books I’ve read, and fascinating. This is time travel done right. I highly recommend this book. 

7.08.14. Science Fiction Books,Romance Books,Fantasy Books,

0

City of Heavenly Fire

Book 6 in the Mortal Instruments Series

By Cassandra Clare

9/10 Stars

Institutes are being attacked. Hundreds of Shadowhunters are dying, or turning into demon-like creatures fighting for evil. Clary, Jace, Simon, Isabelle, and Alec are the only ones who can save their society, but even they can’t do it alone. Nothing under Heaven can defeat Sebastian, Clary’s ruthless brother, and they must travel to the demon realm to try to stop him..before the world is burned to the ground.

This is the finale of the Mortal Instruments series. Action-packed, romantic, and exciting, it’s my favorite book of the year. The characters are so realistic and flawed, it makes me love them more than the perfect ones of other stories. The connections between this book  & the Infernal Devices series were just what the book needed. I highly recommend

6.25.14. Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Action/ Adventure Books,Adventure/ Action Books,

1

The Selection

Book 1 of the Selection series

By Kiera Cass

8/10 Stars

America Singer had an invitation to apply for the Selection. The chance to fall in love with the prince, marry him, and become Queen sounds like a dream for most girls, but America only applied because her true love wanted her to. And now, she’s been selected and forced away from her home & boyfriend, and into a situation with 34 other girls, competing for a Prince’s affections. How much more worse can it get?

This book surprised me with the depth and interesting plot. I was expecting a fun, shallow book, but instead got a fun, thought-provoking book about the life of royals and the people below them. The world in which America lives in is strange and revolutionary, hurting some, and saving others. I highly recommend.

6.15.14. Dystopian,Fantasy Books,Romance Books,

0

Cinder

Book 1 of the Lunar Chronicles

8/10 Stars

By Marissa Meyer

image

Cinder is a gifted mechanic and a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen, scorned by her family and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. However, when her life suddenly becomes wrapped up with Prince Kai’s, she might be her world’s only hope.

This book was enjoyable & mysterious. It was a bit predictable at times, but the characters were not, and I enjoyed the new vision of “our” world. The story, seemingly familiar at first, spirals into a new realm of fascinating. I highly recommend it.

6.15.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Dystopian,

0

The Menagerie

Book 1 of the Menagerie series

By Tui & Kari Sutherland

7/10 Stars

Logan Wilde is the new kid in town, and he’s lonely & exasperated with his dad for still searching for his mother. His mother, who ran away from them. When he finds a griffin under his bed, his eyes are opened to a whole new side of his new town. He quickly discovers that there is trouble brewing at the magical creature paradise across town. But how will he be able to help?

This is a fun, humorous, and well-thought out novel. I highly recommend it for kids, young to old, with an interest in magical creatures. The characters are interesting and developed, and the author gives Logan a great voice.

5.09.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Kid Books,

0

Throne of Glass

Book 1 of the Throne of Glass series

By Sarah J. Maas

9/10 Stars

When magic is gone from the world and a vicious king rules over the kingdom, an assassin comes to the castle, not to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty three other killers, thieves, and criminals, she will become the King’s Champion, the personal assassin of the king. And after that, she’ll be free. She is Celaena Sardonithan. Two men love her. Everyone wants to kill her. And only she can save them all.

Celeana is such a great character. Raw & real, she’ll have your sympathy as soon as you read her story. The book is packed with action and mystery, twisted with betrayal, friendship, and romance. Very well written and exciting. Highly recommend! Can be a bit gory, so keep above age 12.

2.07.14. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Romance Books,

1

Divergent

Book 1 in Divergent series

By Veronica Roth

9/10 Stars

Movie in March 2014

In a futuristic Chicago, to keep the peace, you must decide your life at sixteen. Will you be honest in Candor, peaceful in Amity, intelligent in Erudite, selfless in Abnegation, or brave in Dauntless? Beatrice Prior has always pushed herself down to be the daughter of an Abnegation leader, but even then, she isn’t perfect. So when it comes time for her to decide, and she finds out she is Divergent, which means she has the ability for three- Erudite, Abnegation, or..Dauntless. Going against every instinct, Beatrice picks Dauntless. In Dauntless, she becomes Tris, and learns how to jump trains, fly off cliffs, fight and kill people, and shoot a gun. And there’s a boy, of course. She learns the meaning of Divergent, and learns that she must keep it a secret at all costs. That people would kill her if they found out. And that her peaceful society has a breed of plotters, about to start a war.

Oh, my. I have heard about this book for a very long time, and though I searched for it in the libraries, I never found it. Until the other day when I saw it peeking out of the shelves. I picked it up, opened the pages, and I was hooked. This book is impossible to stop reading. It had me on the edge of my seat. The author writes with an unmistakeable voice, and characters so developed they will blow your mind. The one part I didn’t like about this book was the tinge of violence to everything. Knives, blood, guns, easy death, suicide, sure that’s all fine in small doses. But over and over it can prove to be too much. Overall though, I loved this book, and am dying to find the next one. I highly recommend it.

11.12.13. Popular Teen Books,Fantasy Books,Romance Books,Science Fiction Books,Movie,

0

Dawn of the Clans: The Sun Trail

Book 1 of the Warriors prequel series “Dawn of the Clans”

By Erin Hunter

9/10 Stars

Before the four Clans reached the lake, there was a Tribe starving in the mountains. Their leader saw a sign that would lead half of them to a new home, and so the cats left, journeying to a new home. Gray Wing didn’t want to go, but when he was forced to find his younger brother, who decided to follow the journeying cats himself, Gray Wing has no choice but to leave his mountain home. Deadly eagles and heartless Twolegs make their path all the more difficult, and Gray Wing can’t help but wonder, Is this a trail we were never supposed to take?

I loved this book. I am a fan of the Warriors series, and I always love when the author comes out with another story explaining some of my questions about the Clans’ origin. Written very well with subtle hints of the clans to come, I highly recommend this book.

9.05.13. Popular Kid Books,Fantasy Books,Boys Books,

0

Breadcrumbs

By Anne Ursu

8/10 Stars

Once upon a time, Hazel and Jack were inseparable. They dreamed of Oz, Hogwarts, and so much more together, always having their own worlds, apart from other children. But then Jack begins to ignore Hazel, and everyone tells her that this is bound to happen at her age. Hazel knows it is never that simple, and she is right. A witch with an icy heart has stolen Jack and taken him away into her kingdom, and if Hazel wants to get him back, nothing will ever be the same again.

This is a haunting, magical story of mystery, darkness, and friendship. I recommend it to all who enjoy fantasy and excitement, especially kids. This author has always been a favorite of mine and she has an amazing writing style to keep you on the edge of your seat.

8.15.13. Fantasy Books,Boys Books,Girls Books,

0

Clockwork Angel

Book 1 of the Infernal Devices series

By Cassandra Clare

9/10 Stars

Movie rumored!

image

Tessa Gray’s aunt just died and she is going to live with her brother in London. But immediately after arriving, Tessa is kidnapped by a pair of warlocks, the Dark Sisters, who will prepare her for marriage with a mysterious Magister by teaching her of a power she has inside, allowing her to become another person, living or dead. She is rescued and soon feels at home at the London Institute of Shadowhunters, angel-human beings created to fight demons. The danger just grows higher and higher as Tessa and the Shadowhunters fight to figure out who Tessa is, and how to get her brother back.

An amazing, spellbinding book full of twists, and mystery, and romance, and action. I couldn’t put this book down, and bought the next one right after, since I was loving the book so much. Cassandra Clare does a great job with her plot & characters, and if you are a fan of the Mortal Instruments series, you’ll recognize a few last names, and a couple awesome characters will return. I highly recommend this book to ages 13 and up.

5.13.13. Fantasy Books,Popular Teen Books,Boys Books,Girls Books,Romance Books,New York Times Bestsellers,

2

Nobody’s Princess

Book 1 of the Nobody’s Princess series

By Esther Friesner

9/10 Stars

Helen is tired of being overlooked. She wants to be able to control her own life, say yes or no, always. But instead she is at the needle or putting on silly dresses and hairstyles without anyone listening to her. Then someone tells her, “If Aphrodite could get her hands on one of Zeus’ thunderbolts, even Zeus wouldn’t dare ignore her.” And since she can’t get a thunderbolt, she goes with the next best thing, a sword. A completely new perspective of the famous Helen of Troy, this book is full of inspiring women warriors including Atalanta & the Oracle herself, but also includes many, men in particular, who don’t agree with women being able to defend themselves. 

This was an amazing book! I’m already dying for the next one. Helen is so spunky and strong you can’t help but admire her for her persistence. Incredibly written with great characters you might just recognize and hunts you may have heard of (think Theseus and the boar hunt), I highly recommend this book to all females & all those who enjoy Greek myths.

5.02.13. Fantasy Books,Girls Books,Tales/ Myths,

1

City of Bones

Book 1 of Mortal Instruments series

Movie coming out this summer!

By Cassandra Clare

4.8 Stars

image

Fifteen year old Clarissa Fray, known as Clary, sneaks out to a night club with her best friend Simon and her world changes. When she sees a group of strangely marked teenagers kill a seemingly innocent boy, she screams, but no one else can see them. Soon, one of the teens seeks her out and tells her the truth. She’s a Shadowhunter, an ancient breed of half angel- half human demon-hunters, and her father is the biggest threat the Shadowhunters yet. 

An amazing book that I picked up and set down too many times before I finally decided to read it. I am very glad I did. Recommended for at least ages 12 and up, this book is full of action, mystery, romance, and adventure. It has believable scenes and characters you can’t stop reading about, and you will pick a favorite supporting character. I already have a bunch.. Satisfying and interesting, the series continues with City of Glass and the movie is coming out this summer!

4.30.13. Movie,Popular Teen Books,Fantasy Books,

1