13: A Novel

By Jason Robert Brown & Dan Elish

6.5/10 Stars

Based on the musical 13

 

Evan’s dad met a stewardess on a flight, and before he knows it, he’s moving to Appleton, Indiana, away from his friends and sort-of girlfriend, Nina. His bar mitzvah is happening in two months and he has no friends and no desire for the party. Before he knows it, his friends in New York are drifting away and one stole Nina. Evan quickly learns that if he wants to make it in Appleton, he has to become friends with the coolest guy in town, Brett Connelly. But his new friends and his becoming a man mentality for the bar mitzvah start to clash and Evan has to decide what becoming a man really means, and what it means to be a friend. 

I enjoyed this book. Predictable, but sweetly so, with a great message behind the story. Evan’s character jumps off the page, and the new friends he makes are all full of personality and humor. I especially enjoyed reading more about the characters from the musical 13 (I am currently in it) and hearing more about Evan’s journey. The book wasn’t written particularly well, but it was entertaining and had an excellent message. I recommend it to preteens figuring out what growing up is.

PS: Go see the musical 13, it’s way better than the book (:

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Boys Books,Humor,

0

A Midsummer’s Nightmare

By Kody Keplinger

8/10 Stars

12+

Whitley’s dream summer has turned into a nightmare. Her divorced dad is getting married to a perfect family, and will do whatever it takes to make it work, including shutting Whitley out of his life. To make it worse, her graduation one-night-stand happens to be her new stepbrother. If Whitley ever wants to be happy again, it’s going to take a lot of help from her adorable new sister, hot stepbrother, and new best friend to do it.

This book was a lot better than I expected. Whitley is a character that readers can relate to- confused, moody, and hurt about her family, life, and future. Her story was very real, and I was sucked into the book from the second page. The author did an excellent job on Whitley’s voice, and it definitely made the book much better. I highly recommend this book.

7.16.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

0

Amber Rules

Book One of the Hollywood Rules

By Mel/Melinda Curtis

8/10 Stars

13+

requested by author to read, not sponsored

image

Amber Rules just inherited her father’s life coaching business and if she ever wants to gain privacy, she has to earn one million dollars in income for the company. She has no clue how to be a life coach and how to hold onto her few remaining clients, plus one egotistical (but handsome) basketball star is determined to teach Amber his own set of Rules. 

I loved this book, and read it in less than a week. I enjoyed Amber’s character and spunk, and the entire book was hilarious and sassy. Evan & Amber’s chemistry is impeccable, and I couldn’t help but root for them. The family drama was great, adding more substance to the book than romance, and it is always refreshing to read a book with realistic aspects. I highly recommend this well written book. 

7.12.14. Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

4

Superlatives: Biggest Flirts

By Jennifer Echols

8/10 Stars

Ages 12+

Tia has worked hard to be known as the life of the party, and is careful to avoid responsibility & relationships. She’s ready for an easy senior year hanging out with friends, and hooking up with cute boys..starting with new kid, Will. As sparks fly, Will wants to get serious and Tia can’t push him away fast enough. Side by side all year, the two stay friends and can’t resist teasing each other constantly. But when they are awarded Biggest Flirts of the senior class, Will’s in trouble with his girlfriend and Tia finds herself struggling with her own logical reasoning about love. It started out as a carefree fling and it’s about to get a whole lot more complicated.

Tia is a great character. Seemingly shallow on the surface, she has layers of family issues and moments that taint every possible minute of her life. I really enjoyed reading her story, but I admit, got frustrated with her. Will is great, though seems a little too “dream guy.” Cute, chases after what he wants, etc. He also has a well-written character. The book is written well, and funny to read. I finished it quickly. I highly recommend if you want a fun, light read.

5.25.14. Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,

1

Smoky Mountain Tracks

Book 1 of the Raine Stockton Dog Mystery series

By Donna Ball

9.8/10 Stars

Raine Stockton is the daughter of the judge and ex-wife of the sheriff. She also works as a search-and-rescue worker sometimes with her inexperienced, but lovable dog, Cisco. She is reluctantly thrust into a search for a six year old girl & her mother, kidnapped and somewhere in the wilderness. Suspecting there is more to the case than what meets the eye, she does some investigating of her own, while she slowly learns to trust Cisco and herself.

Oh my goodness, this series is completely amazing. Full to bursting with adorable dog details, scary police scenes, rocky self-discovery, and a necessary bit of romance, it is entertaining from beginning to end. I loved every bit of it, and I confess that I’ve already read the entire series. I highly recommend it!

4.07.14. Realistic Fiction,Mystery Books,Popular Books,

0

Delirium

Book 1 of the Delirium series

By Lauren Oliver

9/10 Stars

It’s hard to imagine that people thought love was a good thing. Now that scientists have found the cure, there isn’t pain or hatred in the world, and everyone’s happy. And Lena is anxious for her procedure, coming up at the end of the summer. Then she’ll go to college, be matched, live happily ever after..and not turning out like her mother. But, she falls in love, and finds out that the disease is a beautiful thing. 

I adored this book! Amazingly written with a thought-provoking concept, it has excitement, mystery, and romance. I highly recommend it.

4.06.14. Popular Books,Popular Teen Books,Romance Books,Realistic Fiction,

2

Full Ride

By Margaret Peterson Haddix

9/10 Stars

Becca was once popular, rich, and happy. But after her father was sent to jail for embezzlement, and danger seeks her at every turn, her mother and her move away and start a new life, poor and broken. Now, Becca is in her senior year. She has good grades, good friends, and a desperate desire for a good future. When she starts applying for scholarships, she finds out that she may never be able to go to the college of her dreams, since she is trapped by her past. How far is Becca willing to go for a future?

This book was well written, thought provoking, and exciting. I flew through it, as I usually do with a Haddix book, and loved every second. Becca is such a genuine character with a past she is ashamed of, trying to scrape up a life of her own from the broken shards. The book has great morals and surprising humor. I highly recommend it!

3.20.14. Realistic Fiction,Popular Teen Books,

2

The Latte Rebellion

By Sarah Jamila Stevenson

9/10 Stars

image

After Asha, high school senior, gets called a racial insult at a pool party, it sparks an idea to make money for a post-graduation trip. They’ll design & sell T-Shirts that promote the idea of the Latte Rebellion. Eventually the business becomes more than just a way to earn money. A club begins that raises awareness of the “lattes” of the world, the idea that everyone is mixed. A little bit of this, a little bit of that. And this idea takes off, taking over Asha’s life much more than she planned. Will this idea ruin her dreams, or improve the world as we know it? How much risk is Asha willing to take?

Oh my goodness I love this book. I picked it up, not expecting much, and read the first few pages..and was hooked! This book is eye-catching, humorous, and written very well, with underlying themes of finding yourself and the mixed-races in our world. Perfectly balanced between Asha’s struggle with her parents, friends, and family, and her wild campaign ideas, you will love this book!! And it’s perfect to read with a mocha, capucchino, or better yet..a latte.

3.05.14. Realistic Fiction,Humor,Popular Teen Books,

0

Gossip Girl

#1 of Gossip Girl series

By Cecily Von Ziegasar

8/10 Stars

Age 13+

Serena is back from boarding school. Her best friend, Blaine, isn’t happy to see her, because when Serena was gone, Blaine was the It Girl. With the man of Blaine’s dreams. The man of Blaine’s dreams, Nate, is struggling with his own feelings toward Serena, and trying desperately to keep his own secrets hidden. Serena doesn’t understand why everything can’t just go back to the way things are. The rich girls and boys are about to get tattled on, because lovely Gossip Girl is about to spill all their secrets. 

This is a book I’ve been meaning to read for a while, and you definitely have to been in the right, girly mood for it. It’s written very well, with clean character switches, well-developed plots, and interesting, deep characters. I highly recommend to girls who enjoy this sort of thing (you know who you are!) 

1.13.14. Girls Books,Popular Teen Books,Realistic Fiction,Movie,

0

Matilda Bone

By Karen Cushman

7/10 Stars

Matilda, raised by a priest to be pious, hard, and learned, is sent away from her childhood home into Blood & Bone Alley, to be the assistant of Peg the Bonesetter. To Matilda’s dismay, she is to light fires, run errands, and heal people, much below her earlier practices of Latin, writing, and reading. Her narrow views of the world bring other’s pity onto her, to her confusion, when she believes they are the ones to pity. Gradually, however, Matilda Bone learns that her world and God are not as they seem, and maybe it isn’t so sinful to speak up, make her own choices, and laugh.

This is a wonderful book for children, and young teens. In a unique perspective, Matilda’s story is much like all of our struggles to find ourselves and our place in this world. Well written with greatly developed characters and dry humor, I highly recommend this book!

1.11.14. Popular Kid Books,Historical Fiction,Realistic Fiction,Girls Books,Humor,

0

Life As We Knew It

By Susan Beth Pfeffer

8/10 Stars

Everyone is talking about the meteor that will be passing by. Miranda’s teachers are assigning projects and essays about it. But everything goes wrong in a split second..the meteor hits the moon. Miranda quickly learns that in this new world with the moon so close to their planet, it’s survival of the fittest. Her family piles the food, and already begins the rationing, and when people start dying, it just gets worse. The temperatures drop and Miranda and her family shelter in their home squished & starving. While earthquakes rock the world, dormant volcanoes explode and tsunamis drown the coasts, Miranda is forced to adapt to a world much different than her past one.

This book freaked me out! The whole time reading it my heart hammered and I planned what I would do if the world became Miranda’s. It was scarier than a horror book for me, because it felt like this situation could actually happen. I hope we are more prepared if it ever does! This is a really well written book, and includes snatches of love, teenage difficulties, and interesting takes on the world. I highly recommend it- if you are looking for a thriller to keep you on the edge of your seat.

10.14.13. Popular Books,Thrillers,Realistic Fiction,

4

Confessions of a Shopaholic

By Sophie Kinsella

9.5/10 Stars

Becky Bloomwood has big dreams. Unfortunately, her bank account isn’t quite as big, and whenever she receives that news she treats herself with a little something. Just a little something. She is a writer, but a writer for a financial magazine. How boring can it get? But as Becky’s world comes crashing down and she hits rock bottom, Becky hears a story she wants to write, and the world starts to realize that maybe Becky has something to say too.

Oh, my gosh. This is such a great book, full of humor and sadness, shopping, and bank account warnings. The author puts such a spin on the situation that I felt like Becky was real the whole time, and I was worrying right with her. I highly recommend this to all women, especially those with shopping love and money problems. 

9.05.13. Realistic Fiction,Movie,Humor,Popular Books,Girls Books,

0

The Fault In Our Stars

By John Green

8/10 Stars

Ages 13+

Hazel was supposed to die before now, but thanks to a tumor shrinking miracle, she is still alive. Hazel has always known she will die sometime. Walking around with the machine that lets her breathe, Hazel is not so loving of her life until she meets Augustus Waters at Cancer Kids Support Group, and everything changes.

An immensely powerful book covering hard subjects such as cancer, real life, etc. No sugar coating or hopeful kids. A love story wrapped in tragedy, literature, and humor, this book is one where everyone doesn’t want it to end. I highly recommend it to those at a level where they are ready to read real-life truths.

8.04.13. New York Times bestsellers,Realistic Fiction,Romance Books,Tragedy,Popular Books,Popular Teen Books,

2

Mysterious Benedict Society & the Perilous Journey

Book 2 of the Mysterious Benedict Society series

By Trenton Lee Stewart

4.9 Stars

image

The members of the Mysterious Benedict Society were looking forward to reuniting again for a mysterious surprise Mr. Benedict is planning, until Mr. Benedict & Number Two are kidnapped by none other than Mr. Curtain. Now it’s up to the children to find them, all by themselves,

Another fantastic addition to Mysterious Benedict Society series. As usual, the plot is great, the characters are so real, you expect them to jump off the page,and the mysteries are so intricate you can’t help but try to solve them yourself.

4.30.13. Fantasy Books,Realistic Fiction,Popular Kid Books,Boys Books,

0

Little Women

By Louisa May Alcott

4.5 Stars

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy are four ambitious women with not quite enough money to satisfy them. Their father is in the war and their mother is struggling to keep them happy, to help those less fortunate around her, and to prevent her worrying about her dear husband. The girls fight boldly with their jealously of richer girls and with their silly wishes, determined to follow their strong mother’s lead in the world. Jo meets a kind boy next door with a great family, and the girls & Laurie and many others have many glorious adventures you can’t stop reading about.

One of the sweetest classics, Jo’s adventures and her family’s love is always pleasing and fun to read and reread. With amazingly real-like characters and hard situations they admirably defeat, this classic is always a must-read for everyone.

4.30.13. the Classics,Realistic Fiction,Historical Fiction,Popular Books,Girls Books,

1